ESAT at University of Cambridge

Cambridge Engineering: ESAT requirements

  • Sources checked 27 September 2026
  • 4 sources, all linked
  • Free, no sign-up

The short answer

For 2027 entry, Cambridge Engineering (H100) requires 3 ESAT modules: Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics.1 Sit it in the October window (12 to 16 October 2026) only. January possible only for an eligible mature-college application with a January deadline; check the exact college/course.2 In Cambridge's 2025 Freedom of Information data for Engineering, offer holders' median Mathematics 1 score was 5.9, against 4.5 for all applicants with that module.3 In the 2025 application cycle, Cambridge made 392 offers from 3,263 applications to Engineering (12.0%).3,4

ESAT modules
3 fixed1
M1, M2, Physics
Published
When to sit
October only2
12 to 16 October 2026
Published
Median M1, offer holders
5.93
All applicants 4.5; Engineering, 2025
Calculated from published counts
Offers per application
12%3,4
392 of 3,263, 2025
Calculated from published counts

Cambridge's FOI score data for this course, beside your module scores.

ESAT modules for Cambridge Engineering

Compulsory
Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics1Published[1] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026

When to sit the ESAT

October window
12 to 16 October 20262Published[2] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026
Exception
January possible only for an eligible mature-college application with a January deadline; check the exact college/course.2Published[2] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026
Booking
Institution/course-specific booking restrictions take priority; local appointments may use fewer dates than the full window.2Published[2] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026

Published scores and offer rates

Course-level figures from the university's own statistics and Freedom of Information replies. Offer rates are per application, not per interview.

Engineering: median module score, offer holders against all applicants
  • Offer holders' median
  • All applicants' median

Modules taken by fewer than 10 offer holders are in the table only.

Cambridge Freedom of Information data, 2025 application cycle. Each module row counts only applicants with a recorded score in that module.Source for every row: [3] WhatDoTheyKnow (FOI response), checked 26 Sep 2026
Course optionModuleGroupNumberMeanMedianRange
EngineeringMathematics 1All applicants3,1884.814.51 to 9
EngineeringMathematics 2All applicants3,1824.744.61 to 9
EngineeringPhysicsAll applicants3,1854.714.51 to 9
EngineeringMathematics 1Offer holders3906.295.93.1 to 9
EngineeringMathematics 2Offer holders3906.2163.1 to 9
EngineeringPhysicsOffer holders3906.336.33.2 to 9
Offers divided by applications (or by applicant rows in a Freedom of Information release). Not offers per interview and not a personal chance.Source for every row: [3] WhatDoTheyKnow (FOI response), checked 26 Sep 2026; [4] University of Cambridge, checked 27 Sep 2026
CycleCourseTest that cycleGroupOffersOut ofRate
2025 application cycleEngineeringESATAll applications regardless of domicile in Cambridge annual statistics Table 1.13923,263 applications12.0%
2025 application cycleEngineering H100Not statedHome applicants2521,771 applicant rows14.2%
2025 application cycleEngineering H100Not statedInternational (non-UK) applicants1381,417 applicant rows9.7%

Free tools for this

Questions people ask

What ESAT score is competitive for Cambridge Engineering?

In Cambridge's 2025 Freedom of Information data for Engineering, offer holders' median Mathematics 1 score was 5.9, against 4.5 for all applicants with that module.3 In the 2025 application cycle, Cambridge made 392 offers from 3,263 applications to Engineering (12.0%).3,4

Which ESAT sitting should I take for Cambridge Engineering?

Sit it in the October window (12 to 16 October 2026) only. January possible only for an eligible mature-college application with a January deadline; check the exact college/course.2

How should I read the published ESAT score distribution?

UAT-UK's percentile tables cover every ESAT candidate. They tell you where a score sits nationally, not what Cambridge Engineering applicants scored. The course figures above are the closest evidence for this course.3

Sources

Every figure on this page links to one of these. A checked date is the day we read the page, not the day it was published. Labels: Published, Past cycle, Calculated from published counts, Estimate, Not published.

  1. 1
    UAT-UKpage 12Published 2026-04. Checked 27 Sep 2026.
  2. 2
    UAT-UKChecked 27 Sep 2026.
  3. 3
    WhatDoTheyKnow (FOI response)FOI individual applicant tablesFreedom of Information reply. Checked 26 Sep 2026.
  4. 4
    University of CambridgeTable 1.1, PDF page 4; all domicilesChecked 27 Sep 2026.

Data checked 27 September 2026. Missing figures are shown as not published, never as zero or a guess.

© 2026 ESATGenius. An independent study resource, not affiliated with universities or test providers.Privacy