ESAT at University of Cambridge

Cambridge Natural Sciences: ESAT requirements

  • Sources checked 27 September 2026
  • 5 sources, all linked
  • Free, no sign-up

The short answer

For 2027 entry, Cambridge Natural Sciences (BCF0) requires Mathematics 1 plus two of Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics 2.1 Sit it in the October window (12 to 16 October 2026) only. January possible only for an eligible mature-college application with a January deadline; check the exact college/course.2 In Cambridge's 2025 Freedom of Information data for NatSci Physical, offer holders' median Mathematics 1 score was 5.8, against 4.8 for all applicants with that module.3 In the 2025 application cycle, Cambridge made 672 offers from 2,644 applications to Natural Sciences (25.4%).4,5

ESAT modules
M1 + 2 of 41
Mathematics 1 plus your choice
Published
When to sit
October only2
12 to 16 October 2026
Published
Median M1, offer holders
5.83
All applicants 4.8; NatSci Physical, 2025
Calculated from published counts
Offers per application
25%4,5
672 of 2,644, 2025
Calculated from published counts

Cambridge's FOI score data for this course, beside your module scores.

ESAT modules for Cambridge Natural Sciences

Compulsory
Mathematics 11Published[1] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026
Choose 2
From Biology, Chemistry, Physics or Mathematics 21Published[1] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026

When to sit the ESAT

October window
12 to 16 October 20262Published[2] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026
Exception
January possible only for an eligible mature-college application with a January deadline; check the exact college/course.2Published[2] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026
Booking
Institution/course-specific booking restrictions take priority; local appointments may use fewer dates than the full window.2Published[2] UAT-UK, checked 27 Sep 2026

Published scores and offer rates

Course-level figures from the university's own statistics and Freedom of Information replies. Offer rates are per application, not per interview.

NatSci Biological: median module score, offer holders against all applicants
  • Offer holders' median
  • All applicants' median

Modules taken by fewer than 10 offer holders are in the table only.

NatSci Physical: median module score, offer holders against all applicants
  • Offer holders' median
  • All applicants' median

Modules taken by fewer than 10 offer holders are in the table only.

Cambridge Freedom of Information data, 2025 application cycle. Each module row counts only applicants with a recorded score in that module.Source for every row: [3] WhatDoTheyKnow (FOI response), checked 26 Sep 2026
Course optionModuleGroupNumberMeanMedianRange
NatSci BiologicalMathematics 1All applicants1,1314.544.21 to 9
NatSci BiologicalMathematics 2All applicants1814.964.81 to 9
NatSci BiologicalPhysicsAll applicants844.774.851.3 to 8.9
NatSci BiologicalChemistryAll applicants9505.024.91 to 9
NatSci BiologicalBiologyAll applicants1,0465.0051 to 9
NatSci BiologicalMathematics 1Offer holders2874.894.51.4 to 9
NatSci BiologicalMathematics 2Offer holders315.4153.3 to 9
NatSci BiologicalPhysicsOffer holders195.545.62.7 to 8.9
NatSci BiologicalChemistryOffer holders2525.955.92.3 to 9
NatSci BiologicalBiologyOffer holders2726.175.92 to 9
NatSci PhysicalMathematics 1All applicants1,4354.984.81 to 9
NatSci PhysicalMathematics 2All applicants9955.2151 to 9
NatSci PhysicalPhysicsAll applicants1,2545.104.91 to 9
NatSci PhysicalChemistryAll applicants5895.235.21 to 9
NatSci PhysicalBiologyAll applicants283.9141 to 7
NatSci PhysicalMathematics 1Offer holders3816.005.82.2 to 9
NatSci PhysicalMathematics 2Offer holders2576.296.11.8 to 9
NatSci PhysicalPhysicsOffer holders3356.1961.8 to 9
NatSci PhysicalChemistryOffer holders1686.546.42.7 to 9
NatSci PhysicalBiologyOffer holders25.655.655.4 to 5.9
NatSci UnspecifiedMathematics 1All applicants83.343.11.1 to 7.1
NatSci UnspecifiedMathematics 2All applicants53.363.71.2 to 5.9
NatSci UnspecifiedPhysicsAll applicants42.382.31.8 to 3.1
NatSci UnspecifiedChemistryAll applicants22.952.951.4 to 4.5
NatSci UnspecifiedBiologyAll applicants44.504.34 to 5.4
Offers divided by applications (or by applicant rows in a Freedom of Information release). Not offers per interview and not a personal chance.Source for every row: [4] WhatDoTheyKnow (FOI response), checked 26 Sep 2026; [5] University of Cambridge, checked 27 Sep 2026
CycleCourseTest that cycleGroupOffersOut ofRate
2025 application cycleNatural SciencesESATAll applications regardless of domicile in Cambridge annual statistics Table 1.16722,644 applications25.4%
2025 application cycleNatSci BiologicalNot statedAll applications in FOI summary for the course option2881,160 applications24.8%
2025 application cycleNatSci PhysicalNot statedAll applications in FOI summary for the course option3841,465 applications26.2%
2025 application cycleNatSci UnspecifiedNot statedAll applications in FOI summary for the course option019 applications0.0%

Free tools for this

Questions people ask

What ESAT score is competitive for Cambridge Natural Sciences?

In Cambridge's 2025 Freedom of Information data for NatSci Physical, offer holders' median Mathematics 1 score was 5.8, against 4.8 for all applicants with that module.3 In the 2025 application cycle, Cambridge made 672 offers from 2,644 applications to Natural Sciences (25.4%).4,5

Which ESAT sitting should I take for Cambridge Natural Sciences?

Sit it in the October window (12 to 16 October 2026) only. January possible only for an eligible mature-college application with a January deadline; check the exact college/course.2

How should I read the published ESAT score distribution?

UAT-UK's percentile tables cover every ESAT candidate. They tell you where a score sits nationally, not what Cambridge Natural Sciences applicants scored. The course figures above are the closest evidence for this course.3

Sources

Every figure on this page links to one of these. A checked date is the day we read the page, not the day it was published. Labels: Published, Past cycle, Calculated from published counts, Estimate, Not published.

  1. 1
    UAT-UKpage 12Published 2026-04. Checked 27 Sep 2026.
  2. 2
    UAT-UKChecked 27 Sep 2026.
  3. 3
    WhatDoTheyKnow (FOI response)FOI individual applicant tablesFreedom of Information reply. Checked 26 Sep 2026.
  4. 4
    WhatDoTheyKnow (FOI response)page 2Freedom of Information reply. Checked 26 Sep 2026.
  5. 5
    University of CambridgeTable 1.1, PDF page 4; all domicilesChecked 27 Sep 2026.

Data checked 27 September 2026. Missing figures are shown as not published, never as zero or a guess.

© 2026 ESATGenius. An independent study resource, not affiliated with universities or test providers.Privacy